



Minutes of the Gower AONB Advisory Group

Multi-Location Meeting - Gloucester Room, Guildhall / MS Teams

## Tuesday, 31 January 2023 at 10.00 am

Present: Councillor P Lloyd (Chair) Presided		
<b>Councillors</b> P R Hood-Williams	L James	S E Keeton
Stakeholder Members Hamish Osborn		
<b>Officer(s)</b> Paul Meller Jeremy Parkhouse Mike Scott	Natural Environment Section Manager Democratic Services Officer Gower AONB Officer	
Apologies for Absence Councillors: N L Matthews and A H Stevens		

#### **1** Declarations of Interest.

In accordance with the Code of Conduct adopted by the City and County of Swansea, the following interests were declared.

Councillors L James and P Lloyd declared personal interests in Minute No.5 – Appointment of Stakeholder Members to the Gower AONB Advisory Group.

#### 2 Minutes.

**Resolved** that the Minutes of the Gower AONB Partnership Steering Group Meeting held on 14 March 2022 be approved as a correct record.

#### 3 Exclusion of the Public.

The Group was requested to exclude the public from the meeting during consideration of the item(s) of business identified in the recommendation(s) to the report on the grounds that it / they involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as set out in the exclusion paragraph of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information) (Variation) (Wales) Order 2007 relevant to the item(s) of business set out in the report.

The Group considered the Public Interest Test in deciding whether to exclude the public from the meeting for the items of business where the Public Interest Test was relevant as set out in the report.

**Resolved** that the public be excluded for the following items of business.

# (Closed Session)

### 4 Appointment of Stakeholder Members to the Gower AONB Advisory Group.

The Advisory Group considered applications received from 16 candidates for 10 Stakeholder Member positions on the Gower AONB Advisory Group.

The Advisory Group considered the background of each candidate; their reasons for applying to become a Stakeholder Member; the area, group or interest they represented; and the skills and knowledge they would bring to the Group.

Resolved that the following be appointed: -

- Alan Kersley-Evans (National Trust)
- Barbara Parry (Clyne Valley Community Project)
- Howard Evans (Gower Society)
- Peter Lanfear (Gower Commoners / Farming)
- Paul Tucker (Llanrhidian Higher Community Council / Gower Agricultural Show)
- Clive Scott (Bishopston Community Council / Walking)
- Steve Heard (Farming)
- Carrie Townsend Jones (Mumbles Community Council)
- Anthony Thomas (Individual)
- Phil Ogleby (Individual)

The meeting ended at 10.45 am

Chair